Aiken Prep Wins Fourth Wendland Memorial

Henry duToit drove down from Nashville and led his young teammates to victory in the fourth Jan E. Wendland Memorial tournament, held December 1 on historic Winthrop Field in Aiken, SC. Aiken Prep defeated Aiken Bicycle Polo Club 6-3 in the first segment of the round robin, then returned to defeat Hunting Hill 4-1 in the third segment to clinch the title. ABPC edged Hunting Hill 4-3 in the middle portion to take second place.

Henry Du Toit, preparing to umpire the second segment of the round robin, and chasing ABPC's Virginia Kopald

Taylor Freeman turns the ball to goal, as Woody Maloney and Bill Matheson defend and Jonathan Ellis waits for a pass.

Bill Matheson controls the ball as Eric Schmidt defends, and Virginia Kopald goes to goal as Zak Smith defends.

Past Winners of the Jan E. Wendland Memorial

1995: Aiken

Chris Griffin
John Weatherford
Bill Matheson
George Handy

1996: Palm Beach

Jim Tolbert
Tiger Kneece
Adam Snow

2000: Aiken Prep

Bobby Buckley
Kit Buckley
Zak Smith
Justin Pimsner

Back to BPAA Tournament Page

Rules of Bicycle Polo

Bicycle Polo Equipment

Bike Polo Players

Top Ten Lists

Contact the BPAA

Back to BPAA Home Page