Aiken Prep Wins 2006 Wendland Memorial

2006 Trophy shot
Aiken Prep, winners of the 2006 Jan E. Wendland Memorial:
Sergio Muris, Charles Bostwick, Jr., Andy O'Byrne, Jr., Wesley Bryan, and Bill Matheson

    An Aiken Prep team that ranged in age from 11 to 51 came out on top in the 2006 Jan E. Wendland Memorial Trophy, held November 24-26 in Aiken, South Carolina. Play began with what would prove to be the most exciting game of the tournament as Redline edged Aiken 11-10. David Kanches and Seth Kopald had seven goals for their respective teams, and Aiken led 4-1 in the second chukker before Redline came back to tie the score at 4-4 by halftime. Redline took the lead in a high-scoring third chukker, tallying six goals to Aiken's four, and held on in the sixth for the one-goal win.
    The second game of the day would be almost as close, with Aiken Prep edging Vermont 5-3. Sergio Muris led the way with three goals, including one from the other side of the midfield line, while Bill Matheson added the other two. Mit Carothers was high scorer for Vermont with two, and Andy Lott notched the other. Vermont led 1-0 after one chukker, but Aiken Prep held a 2-1 advantage at the half. Lott tied the score for Vermont in the third, and Carothers gave them a brief lead in the fourth, but two goals by Muris regained the lead for Aiken Prep, and Matheson added an insurance goal on a penalty conversion.
    Saturday's play began in a very anti-climactic manner, as neither Vermont nor Redline could field a full lineup and the game was declared a double forfeit. The afternoon game saw Vermont bounce back from Friday's loss to edge Aiken, with Cuko Escapite and Tommac Garrett filling in for Andy and Robin Lott. Sunday's opener was a showdown between Aiken Prep and Redline, with the winner sure to come out on top in the final standings. Unfortunately for Redline, their leading scorer, David Kanches, failed to show up, so Charlie Bostwick was called upon to fill in. While Bostwick scored two goals, it was not nearly enough as Aiken Prep won 9-3. Charlie's son, Charles, matched his father's total for Aiken Prep, while Wesley Bryan and Sergio Muris led the way with three apiece. The last game of the tournament was between undefeated Aiken Prep and winless Aiken, and the latter salvaged some pride with a 15-1 victory over a clearly unmotivated opponent.

Past Winners of the Wendland Memorial:

1995: Aiken

Chris Griffin
John Weatherford
Bill Matheson
George Handy

1996: Palm Beach

Jim Tolbert
Tiger Kneece
Adam Snow

2000: Aiken Prep

Bobby Buckley
Kit Buckley
Zak Smith
Justin Pimsner

2001: Aiken Prep

Jon Ellis
Taylor Freeman
Henri DuToit
Seth Kopald

2002: Boxwood

Mathew R. Lopez
Louis J. Lopez, Jr.
William L. Matheson, Jr.
Louis J. Lopez III
Gaither Limehouse

2003: Unionville

Nancy Davidson
Eric Zandotti
Crosby Wood
K.C. Kulp

2004: Charlottesville

Louis J. Lopez, Jr.
Louis J. Lopez III
B. Scott Gray
Timothy A. Gray

2005: Aiken Seniors

Eric Schmidt
Steven Smith
William L. Matheson, Jr.
Milton Carothers
Edward Caycedo

Back to BPAA Tournament Page

Rules of Bicycle Polo

Bicycle Polo Equipment

Bike Polo Players

Top Ten Lists

Contact the BPAA

Back to BPAA Home Page