Boxwood Wins 2011 Wendland Memorial

2011 Trophy shot
 Finalists in the 2011 Wendland Memorial: Winners Boxwood in red: Samira Waernlund, Will Tankard, Bill Matheson, and Duane Stevens;
Runners-up Bit-o'-View in yellow: Ed Caycedo, Mit Carothers, William Matheson, and Wesley Bryan

The 2011 Wendland Memorial featured three teams, with each team playing one game against each of the other two. A draft was held to determine the teams, with Will Tankard, Mit Carothers, and Seth Kopald serving as captains. Kopald ended up with three-quarters of the team he won with last year, and Carothers had a team significantly better than the one that won the Moski Memorial the prior weekend, so it seemed that Tankard's team would have some tough competition.

Play began on Saturday, November 26, with Aiken (Kopald's team) facing Bit o' View (Carothers's team). Bit o' View got off to a fast start, with Carothers scoring first and William Matheson adding two more goals for a 3-0 lead. Aiken's chances were severely damaged soon thereafter, when Kopald injured his knee after the left crank arm fell off his bike. Wesley Bryan scored on the ensuing play, giving Bit o' View a 4-0 lead, which stood as the score at the end of the first chukker. Kopald continued to play, but was limited to basically playing goalkeeper due to his lack of mobility.

Aiken mounted a bit of a comeback in the second chukker, with George Galvan sandwiching a pair of goals around one by Matheson for Bit o' View, making the score 5-2 at the half. Bit o' View regained control of the game in the third chukker, with Bryan scoring twice and Carothers once while Eric Schmidt tallied the only goal for Aiken, leaving Aiken trailing 8-3 with one chukker to play. Bit o' View widened their lead further in the fourth chukker, with Matheson scoring two and Bryan and Carothers one apiece while Galvan and Schmidt each added one for Aiken, making the final score 12-5.

Play resumed the following morning with Aiken facing Boxwood, with Matt McGhee filling in for Kopald. Aiken got off to another slow start, as Tankard, Bill Matheson, and Duane Stevens each scored a goal for a 3-0 lead before McGhee got Aiken on the scoreboard. Stevens added his second goal to make the score 4-1 at the end of the first chukker. Boxwood widened their advantage in the second, as Stevens scored three times and Tankard once before Schmidt and Ellen Horner answered for Aiken, making the score 8-3 at the half.

McGhee scored first in the third chukker, but goals by Tankard, Stevens, and Samira Waernlund gave Boxwood an 11-4 lead before Schmidt and Galvan responded for Aiken, leaving them trailing 11-6 with one chukker to play. Stevens and Waernlund each added another goal in the fourth, while Galvan notched the game's final tally to make the final score 13-7.

The final game was held at 3:00 on Sunday, with a steady breeze out of the south perhaps contributing to all six goals in the first chukker being scored at the north end of the field. William Matheson scored first for Bit o' View, but Stevens answered for Boxwood, after which Carothers and Bill Matheson twice traded goals to make the score 3-3. Tankard scored the first goal into the wind to open the scoring in the second chukker, but William Matheson responded for Bit o' View and Carothers tallied his third goal to give them a 5-4 lead at the half.

Bill Matheson tied the score in the third chukker, and Stevens gave Boxwood the lead for the second time only to see Carothers tie it up again for Bit o' View, leaving the score tied 6-6 with one period to play. Bryan scored twice for Bit o' View early in the fourth for an 8-6 lead, but Tankard answered with a pair of his own to tie it up at 8-8. Bill Matheson scored what proved to be the winning tally off a scramble in front of the goal, and Waernlund took a long pass from Tankard to put the final nail in Bit o' View's coffin.

Waernlund became the third woman to have her name engraved on the Wendland Memorial trophy, and the second in the last two years. She also has the distinction of having the surname most similar to that of the trophy's namesake.

Past Winners of the Wendland Memorial:

1995: Aiken

Chris Griffin
John Weatherford
Bill Matheson
George Handy

1996: Palm Beach

Jim Tolbert
Tiger Kneece
Adam Snow

2000: Aiken Prep

Bobby Buckley
Kit Buckley
Zak Smith
Justin Pimsner

2001: Aiken Prep

Jon Ellis
Taylor Freeman
Henri DuToit
Seth Kopald

2002: Boxwood

Mathew R. Lopez
Louis J. Lopez, Jr.
William L. Matheson, Jr.
Louis J. Lopez III
Gaither Limehouse

2003: Unionville

Nancy Davidson
Eric Zandotti
Crosby Wood
K.C. Kulp

2004: Charlottesville

Louis J. Lopez, Jr.
Louis J. Lopez III
B. Scott Gray
Timothy A. Gray

2005: Aiken Seniors

Eric Schmidt
Steven Smith
William L. Matheson, Jr.
Milton Carothers
Edward Caycedo

2006: Aiken Prep

Charles S. Bostwick, Jr.
Wesley Bryan
Sergio Muris
William L. Matheson, Jr.
Andrew F. O'Byrne, Jr.

2007: Unionville

Eric Zandotti
Kevin Thompson
Crosby Wood
Norris Wright
Dr. Robert Smith

2008: Aiken

Milton Carothers
Zak Smith
Seth Kopald
William L. Matheson, Jr.
Eric Schmidt

2009: Unionville

Craig Danks
Kevin Thompson
Crosby Wood
Norris Wright
Richard Lyons
George Gower

2010: "E" Team

Ellen Horner
Ed Caycedo
Seth Kopald
Eric Schmidt

Back to BPAA Tournament Page

Rules of Bicycle Polo

Bicycle Polo Equipment

Bike Polo Players

Top Ten Lists

Contact the BPAA

Back to BPAA Home Page